Birthday Reflections

Happy two years everyone! Wow, it’s crazy to think that I have had this blog for two whole years. My, times go by quickly…

Anyways, on my birthday last year, I guess I started a tradition of writing a post reflecting on why I started this blog and what I think I’ve accomplished. And I’m going to continue that tradition (now that I’ve said it, it’s official!)

Anyway, I write a lot about how I want to refresh you all with a different perspective and talk about things that need to be talked about. That’s what I want to do with my blog. But why do I blog? When it comes down to the real nitty gritty, why do I write my thoughts, regardless of what I want them to do?

And to me, it’s about giving back. Just two days ago, I wrote about my favorite books. I love books, and if I could, I would slow down time so that I could read as many books as I want. I love taking in literature. But even that isn’t enough. It’s not enough merely to consume literature, as good as it may be. I want to give back, to create. And blogging for me satisfies that.

And it’s nice to know that at least some of you read my posts and that you sometimes even like them enough to tell me so. It’s nice to know that even if I don’t make complete sense, at least something of me is going out to you. Because I want to use my words to serve you, to question myself and you, and to start those discussions. Maybe I’m an idealist. No, it’s not maybe. I am an idealist and a dreamer. But as they say, “Shoot for the stars. That way, if you don’t make it, you’ll at least get to the moon.” 

484183_351110178318375_544510867_nAnd now I would like to talk about a change you will see to the layout. I have changed my main picture! I was thinking about changing the whole theme, but I decided that I liked this too much. But I changed the picture, and I have a reason for it too! I was going back and forth on two pictures, and though the other probably looked better aesthetically, I like the meaning of this one more. Both pictures gave the sense of thinking: the s16557_359541314141928_1801260809_nky through “a world of possibilities,” and the puddle through the simple idea of reflection. And I liked the idea of reflection, a mirror, because that’s what this blog is. I say again and again that this blog isn’t about me. But that will never change the fact that it goes through me, and a part of me will make it my own. So my words are the puddle, the reflecting device that sends ideas from the world through me and back into the world. I hope that makes sense… Anyway, I hope you like it! 

Epylle Spydre

p.s. I think it’s slightly important to mention that I wrote about blogging for the essay I used for the college I’m going to. They at least approve of the fact that I have this blog, so that’s always good! 

Leave a comment