And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward

So I’ve never done this before, but I decided to try the WordPress DP Challenge. It’s titled “The Golden Years.” Since I just got into college, I’m feeling a bit nostalgic, and I thought this would be an appropriate time to blog about my “golden years” but with my own spin.

So this is going to sound really random, but for Christmas, I asked for a time turner like the one Hermione has in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It was obviously a joke, but as they say, every joke has a ring of truth to it. Because honestly, the ability to go back in time would be really amazing. First of all, I would be able to do so much all while getting a wonderful night’s sleep every night. And second of all, it’s the closest thing you can get to stopping time altogether. 

Have you ever thought about how wonderful that would be? Just stopping time and letting all your worries drift away like autumn leaves on a cool brook. Do you ever wonder how much we would notice if time didn’t exist? How would we live life in a world outside of time? I mean, I realize that life isn’t just about comfort and safety, and that a life well lived is one that races time, a life lived on the edge, living every second like it could be your last. 

So I have a bit of Peter Pan Syndrome. I don’t want to grow up. Or really, I just don’t want to say goodbye to the people and places that I’ve made my home with. I’m okay with growing up; age really is just a number to me. I just don’t want to say goodbye. 

But alas, life is full of goodbyes, and I can’t stop time. Time turners don’t exist, and I’m stuck moving forward. So what do I do? Live life. Race time and show people every day that they have meaning. Or at least, I’ll try to. Carpe Diem and Hakunana Matata (but not YOLO). Life is too short to be spent worrying about time and goodbyes. I’m not afraid to age because life isn’t defined by age, or at least, it shouldn’t be. Life should be defined by the way it’s lived. 

My Golden Years? They are behind me, because I have been blessed in so many ways. They are right now, because I am writing and happy and alive. And they are in front of me, however long that road may be. 

Image

Sorry guys, I’m not drinking lemonade in this picture. But I like how time is manipulated in this photo and all the memories I associate with it.

Epylle Spydre

12 thoughts on “And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward

  1. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  2. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  3. Kathleen Meeks says:

    Nicely written. As a dear friend told me, ages ago, “Life is a series of new beginnings.” Perhaps, that will make your transition easier.

  4. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  5. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  6. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  7. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  8. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

  9. litadoolan says:

    Lovely post. I enjoyed reading.

  10. […] And Here We Are, Stuck Moving Forward | A Cool Glass of Lemonade […]

Leave a Reply

