The Sky: A Poem

Hey guys, I’m going to be different today and post a poem that I’ve been working on. I’ve always loved the sky, and one day, when I had paper, a pen, and some free time, I decided to start writing about it. I would not call myself a serious poet, but I did have fun with this, so I thought I’d share with you. 

If words could paint,
Or letters dye,
My masterpiece would be the sky.

 

On my canvas,
So pure and clean,
I would start with a dab of green.

 

For what could show
The sky’s immensity
Than a tree’s propinquity?

 

Next to come
Would be more hues,
Red and orange, and some blues.

 

A sunset shown,
What greater lens
To display the sky with a few pens?

 

The clouds are next,
Though vapor in essence,
Stand sharp against the colors, as if with substance.

 

The fluffy white,
Shaped by God,
But sometimes black with rain, for sod.

 

And finally, the sun,
That golden, glowing sphere,
Spreading its warmth and dissolving all fear.

 

Heating and lighting,
Proud and strong,
We also praise it with the song.

 

Yes, I would paint the sky.
For I am keen
To capture its glory on a canvas clean.

 

But alas, I cannot paint,
And even if I could,
I could not capture
The sky.

 

Not with the canvas clean,
Nor with a beauteous melody,
Not even with words on a page.

~Epylle Spydre

Image

picture taken by my sister, as usual. 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Sky: A Poem

  1. This is a pretty nice poem! You have great line breaks and stanzas; the imagery is lovely. Keep writing! I have a literary blog, so I love finding great fellow writers.

  2. preachinmama says:

    Wow! Pretty but I am left feeling a little sad. I think you did capture the sky with words.

  3. Kathleen Meeks says:

    BEAUTIFUL and the addition of your sis’s photo was perfect. Maybe someday, you two could have a book printed.

  4. epyllespydre says:

    Thank you all for these lovely compliments!

Leave a Reply

