3 Days, 3 Quotes Day 3: Love from E. B. White

Alas, it is the last day of the 3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge. Feel free to read yesterday’s post or the rules/post from the first day. Thank you so much to The Daily Geekette for nominating me for this really fun challenge! And here is the final quote:

“Why did you do all this for me?” he asked. “I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.”

“You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte. “That in itself is a tremendous thing.”

~E. B. White, Charlotte’s Web

It’s really cool, because I was thinking about writing about this quote recently and decided not to (probably ’cause I’ve been on vacation/a mission trip the last month or so). But now I am writing about it, and again, I feel like it’s too beautiful to really add more words to. But I will anyway, because I do have some thoughts about this.

This quote really grabbed me, because I’ve noticed we like to talk about love in terms of what we deserve. And in one respect, it’s healthy. Here I’m thinking about helping people get/stay out of abusive relationships. It’s important to know you do not deserve to be mentally, emotionally, or physically abused. No one is worth so little that it’s okay to hurt them.

But I don’t like the idea we have that we earn love by being good. Your good deeds don’t help you advance levels with love as the prize at the end. Being good is not the currency with which we buy love. Truth is, none of us are so good that we can truly earn love. But we have been given love. Love is given, not earned. And the only thing we can do is receive love when it’s given to us and love others to the best of our ability. 11174960_975167519161524_4670260034670953467_n

Charlotte didn’t love Wilbur because she wanted him to give her something more. She didn’t give because it was what was expected of her when she accepted his friendship. No, she said, “You have been my friend. I care about you. I love you. So let me do something for you.” We don’t love for what we will get in return. That would make it a business deal. No, love is so much bigger than that. There aren’t boundaries on love. It just gives and gives, not caring about propriety or expectations or what’s considered fair or the sacrifice. Love says you’re beautiful even if you don’t see it yourself. Love gives without expecting you to return the favor. Love says you are worth it.

I can’t think of anyone else that I know who has a blog (the right type of blog, that is), so I am unfortunately not nominating any more people.

Until next time,

Epylle Spydre

p.s. I don’t want to ignore the fact that this quote is also about the beauty of friendship and the gorgeous way that Charlotte uplifts Wilbur in this quote. But I think those are inherently communicated just with the quote and do not need any of my words. So we’ll just let that beauty sit there. Hopefully I haven’t ruined this quote by talking too much…

Leave a Reply

