The Power of Two Small Words

Because I’m not going to have access to a computer tomorrow, I have decided to write a Thanksgiving post today. It’s going to be short and sweet because I really should be working on college applications right now. 

Image

 

This is from last year when my aunt and uncle from California visited our home for a business trip. And they wrote a beautiful note on our whiteboard, and I was so touched that I took artistic pictures of it with my phone. And it really ties into something that I’ve thought about writing about for a while: the power of thanking the amazing, beautiful people in our life. 

Thanksgiving is great about making us think about how privileged we really are instead of complaining about what we don’t have. It’s great about making us not take for granted everything that we have that others don’t. But it doesn’t tell us to go out and thank all the people who’ve made a difference in our life. 

It’s easy to underestimate how far a simple “thank you” can go because we do it to be polite or when someone does something really phenomenal. But what about the people who’ve been there the whole time, supporting us and helping to shape us into the people we are today? That in and of itself is a tremendous thing, but it’s easy to take it for granted. And on Thanksgiving, we can say, “I’m thankful for my friends.” We can send out a mass text or make a facebook post, but when we reach out to them one at a time, it’s a really moving experience, both for the person thanking and the person being thanked. 

We all deserve to be affirmed of our worth. And we all deserve to know that we have people around us who love us and appreciate us. And a thank you not only says “thank you for loving me;” it says “I love you, too.” 

Epylle Spydre

p.s. Have a lovely Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

