Epylle’s Confession

Guys, I have a confession to make.

Epylle Spydre isn’t real.

*audible gasp*

Yes, it’s terrible. What makes it worse is that I know some of you probably read my blog posts and get to the end, and say, “Why does she sign it Epylle Spydre? Who or what is Epylle Spydre? What does it mean?” And I never explained it. 

Well, I am going to explain it today. Sorry for the delay. Alrighty, let’s go back in time now. 

One fall day several years ago, I was at a friend’s house. I don’t recall all that we did that day, but at one point in time, we sat down to have a snack. And being fall, they had apple cider. So we decided to have that delicious seasonal drink. 

A side note: in my home, we like to call apple cider “apple spider” just because it’s fun to call it that. It’s just become part of the phraseology of our home, along with many other words like “to obnoxiate” (a synonym of annoy) and “don’t be a cheese scientist” (stop over-analyzing. That’s another fun story). 

So on this day when we were having apple cider, I said something along the lines of “I love apple spider” or “I’d love some apple spider.” I swear, I said that. But my friends (and sister) all claimed that I said “epple spider” (we still get into silly arguments about that). So, after a little bit, we decided to stop arguing. 

And then, being the weird person that I am, I said, “Hey, that has a cool ring to it. It would make a really cool name for a character.” And then I messed with the spelling a little bit, and “epple spider” became “Epylle Spydre.” 

I never created the character “Epylle Spydre.” That is, unless you count it as a persona of myself. But it’s really just a fun pseudonym. Having a pseudonym makes me feel like some sort of spiffy writer who wants to protect their identity. And who wouldn’t want that?

Hope you enjoyed my little story,

Epylle Spydre

One thought on “Epylle’s Confession

  1. Pat and Kathleen Meeks says:

    That is a cute story! It’s fall and it’s time to go buy some apple juice…

Leave a Reply

