There will be a Day

Hey everybody! Thank you to all my new followers and all the people who liked the last post. Seeing all the emails about likes and followers kind of gave me a blogger’s high post last Friday… Sorry for not posting since then. I would have blogged more over the weekend, except that I was busy and didn’t know exactly what I wanted to talk about. And yesterday, I was so uninspired that I wanted to write about writer’s block. But for your sake, I decided not to. But I am inspired today! Yay! Okay, here we go…

I am a devoted Christian. I’m not going to hide it, and I really hope that fact doesn’t drive anybody away. That would be kind of sad, especially considering what I want to talk about today. Anyway, I am a follower of Jesus Christ, but I still have friends of different religions and philosophies: Muslims, Sikhs, Atheists, etc. I find it quite exciting, because I’ve always loved learning about cultures and religions that I’m not familiar with. But not everybody’s like that. Clashes over opposing philosophies occur frequently. There are so many egotistical hotheads who like to get into religious debates just for the heck of it. And then there were the Crusades. And nowadays, when religion comes into play with issues like abortion and gay rights, it just gets ugly. 

It’s so sad. And the worst part is when the so called “religious people” are just going through the motions. For example, it’s not uncommon to find nominal Christians in the US. What’s uncommon is finding real, Christ-following Christians. And when people of other religions and philosophies see these hypocritical “Christians” who aren’t actually living it, they don’t take them seriously. They get angry. They also get angry when people make quick decisions based on faith and aren’t willing to talk about it. This, of course, is not true of all faith-led people. That’s another sad thing: religious people are seen as close-minded and hate-filled people, and non-religious people are seen as ignorant and arrogant. Which, of course, is not true stereotyping at all. The few people who fit these descriptions gave bad names to all those who don’t, and now it’s not helping to reconcile those two groups.

Some people think that more legislation and political action is going to solve this problem. It won’t. Rules will do absolutely nothing to help, because right now, there’s just a whole lot of hate going around. And you know what the antidote for hate is?

Love. Genuine, true love that says, “We may believe different things, but that’s not going to come between our relationship. In fact, because of my love for you, I am going to stick with you, even when we disagree.” You may know you’re right. You may think you’re right. You may not know what to believe. But that shouldn’t come between you and another person. Sure, you can talk about religion and philosophy. You should talk about it, if it’s important to you. But hatred and arrogance are not going to solve anything. They’re not going to convert anyone to your cause, faith, or philosophy. 

Personally, I want everyone to know the deep, deep love of God. I want everyone to be saved by the blood of Jesus, the blood that saved me. It pains me to see people following paths of self-destruction, and I await the day when there shall be no more tears or pain or hatred. And because of those beliefs, I am able to love others more deeply, more freely, and more truly. 
love2012
(I borrowed this picture from Google, please don’t eat me.)

Enjoy the lemonade,

Epylle Spydre

Leave a Reply

