When Beauty Trumps Knowledge

I love the sun. I really do. Maybe it’s because I was born on the Mediterranean Sea coast, and loving the sun subconsciously became part of my character. But by now, it means more to me than that. 

I have several sun-centered anecdotes I could mention. I could talk about when the sun decided to show itself in the Bahamas after several rainy days and how that allowed me to open up to the people around me. I could talk about the window at my new school that would hold a little piece of sky–and sun–to welcome me. I could talk about the wonderful walk I took with a friend that was just surrounded by nature, with the sun as the centerpiece of it all, just being glorious. That’s the crux of all of the stories, really. I could talk about the science of the sun and how it’s in the exact right position so that we’re neither freezing nor fried. And that’s really cool, but it’s not the point. Even though I like science, there are some things that I enjoy appreciating without knowing all the scientific facts. Walt Whitman wrote the perfect poem to describe this:

When I heard the learn’d astronomer,
When the proofs, the figures, were ranged in columns before me,
When I was shown the charts and diagrams, to add, divide, and measure them,
When I sitting heard the astronomer where he lectured with much applause in the lecture-room,
How soon unaccountable I became tired and sick,
Till rising and gliding out I wander’d off by myself,
In the mystical moist night-air, and from time to time,
Look’d up in perfect silence at the stars.

The sun is quite simply glorious. But even “glorious” doesn’t do justice to the beauty it encompasses. And that’s coming from a writer and self-professed “word nerd.” 

Knowledge is great. It’s doing so many wonderful things in the world. But some things weren’t meant to be explored. Sometimes, it’s better just to appreciate beauty for what it is instead of trying to quantify or explain it.  

Image

Epylle Spydre

Leave a Reply

