You are beautiful

So, I really shouldn’t be writing this. I legitimately told myself, “Even though it’s a Friday afternoon, I need to do work. I need to focus.” But I really feel led to write this. So here goes; hopefully this doesn’t take too much of my time away.

You are beautiful. Let me just say that. You are beautiful. I know that there may be plenty of people who read this that I have never met in my life, but I still know that you’re beautiful. Call me religious, but I know that as a human, you are made in the image of God. That makes you beautiful. 

I know that as a teenage girl, our outward appearance means so much. You may not care what clothes you put on your body, but somebody is sure to judge you for it. High school is terrifying; it really is. And there is so much pressure to be perfectly thin, with gorgeous makeup and a “fab” hairdo. We see magazines and advertisements everywhere, all plastered with gorgeous women with so-called “perfect bodies.” And we want to look just like that.

So we diet. And exercise. Or maybe we binge or never eat at all. We get plastic surgery or go to the tanning salon to get that “perfect glow.” 

You call that perfection?

Why are we so worried about the judgments of other people that we hurt ourselves to fit that impossible image of perfection?

I have a problem with the idea of perfection in general. We are in a fallen world. Nothing is perfect. But we forget that, and so many people try to cater to others’ views of perfections that they end up losing themselves in the process. And that’s not just physical “perfection”; we also try to change our character for other people. 

And when we do that, we lose ourselves. Our real self gets lost amid all the junk that we’re putting on over it. And so many people feel like they’re not heard. 

That’s who I’m really talking to here.

I want you to know that you are seen, you are known, and you are loved. 

Sometimes, loneliness can be so powerful, that when just one person stops and talks to you, it brings tears to your eyes. Because when people do that, you know that you’re not a wallflower. Maybe the world isn’t such a bad place after all. Somebody saw you. They saw through your loneliness or whatever it is you’re dealing with and just stopped to show you that you’re not alone.

You are not alone.

You are not nothing.

You are beautiful and so, so very precious. 

Epylle Spydre

 

Leave a Reply

