A Light in the Darkness

I realized that I’ve talked a lot about the good things of humanity: our desire to create art, our ability to love, and many others. But I haven’t talked much on the darkness in humanity. Because, to put it quite plain, we aren’t perfect.

Yesterday, I cried. I cried when I heard the news of the terrible, awful shooting in Connecticut. I’m sure you’ve heard it, and if you’re like me, you probably cried, too. And now, as I browse through my news feed on facebook, I see lots of people with honest emotions about the situation. But some of them bother me. “That man who did that was a monster and nothing less!” I disagree with that. He was a human being, a person. I’m not trying to make an excuse for what he did; it blows my mind how somebody could put it in their heart to do such a thing. But he’s still a person. 

In this situation, there are a lot of people to pity: the children who died, their families, the other people who died, their families, the children who survived that will be traumatized by this. Nobody seems to think of the gunman himself. I cannot imagine what it’s like to be in such a state of desperation and hopeless that would make it okay to do a thing like that. I pity him. But he’s still a person.

People think they’re invincible, that even though bad things may happen to them, humanity on the whole is pretty good. We make masks for ourselves to pretend that everything’s all right. But situations like this make us realize how truly BROKEN humanity is. How broken WE are. But we try to make people live up to our expectations. And often, those expectations are of perfection. That’s why we judge people so easily. I mean, that’s what people did of this man. We judged him by the one bad deed we had heard of but didn’t try to see the world from his point of view. (Once again, I’m not trying to make an excuse for him; I’m just trying to create an easy illustration.) But we also fall prey to the expectations of perfection. We give ourselves to everyone’s image of perfection and when we look  in the mirror, we don’t even recognize ourselves. 

Now I’m feeling dreary. Where’s the solution?!? Is there an answer?!? How do we escape from this dark destiny we’ve created for ourselves?!? 

Personally, I have hope. Because I’ve been loved and saved by God, I know that there is a brighter future for us and that Christ already gave the solution. I know a lot of people don’t have that hope. And I pray for them. I pray for you, whoever you are, because we can always be blessed by God, whether we’re saved or not. 

Thank you,

Epylle Spydre

One thought on “A Light in the Darkness

  1. Rebecca Ford says:

    I love how you write.

Leave a Reply

