I really shouldn’t be writing this….

What I’m doing right now is probably crazy, and definitely unheard of among the many over-achievers that I like to associate myself with. So, are you ready for the craziness?? Here it is: instead of working, I’m writing this blog. GASP! Crazy, right? But I really do miss it here. I have a hankering to write something. For you guys. And for myself. Unfortunately, I don’t, as of right now, know exactly what I’m going to talk about. But I’ll figure out something.

So, life is kind of tiring right now. All I’m surrounded by is work, work, and MORE WORK. Now, I’m not complaining, at least not too much. That would be the most pointless blog post ever. I’m trying to get somewhere. Ooh yes, I’ve figured it out!

We had a discussion in my AP Language and Composition class a while ago about society nowadays. How expectations are so much higher now, and people have to take the right classes to get into the right college to get the right job so that their future will be PERFECT! Oh! If only life were so easy! You see, the thing is, life doesn’t go as planned. It just doesn’t. Life has a wonderful sense of irony that tends to yank the rug out from under our feet just as we’re getting comfortable. But hey, if life didn’t have surprises, it would be pretty boring, yes? However, this leads to the question: if the future is so unpredictable, then why do we spend so much time planning for it??

I honestly don’t know the answer to that one. I will confess that I find myself prey to this temptation often; I, too, fall into the rut of the world, getting ready for a future that may never befall me. But I still haven’t answered my question. Why do we spend so much time dwelling in the future? Well, this makes me think of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby and the American Dream. This American Dream tells us that if we have the willpower, we can accomplish anything we want and then become truly happy. Now, there’s nothing wrong with getting people to follow their dreams and to stick with them even when the going gets tough, but it’s still slightly misleading. What is happiness? Why does it always seem to lie in the future and not in our hands right now?  I believe that if happiness seems to lie in the future, then we will never get to that point where we will receive it. Happiness lies in being thankful for the here-and-now, not the future.

While discussing this in my AP Lang class, my teacher drew our attentions to a poem by an unknown author. I’ve provided it here.

We have bigger houses but smaller families;

more conveniences, but less time.

We have more degrees but less sense;

more knowledge but less judgment;

more experts, but more problems;

more medicines but less healthiness.

We’ve been all the way to the moon and back,

but have trouble in crossing the street to meet our new neighbour.

We built more computers to hold more copies than ever,

But have less real communication;

We have become long on quantity,

but short on quality.

These are times of fast foods but slow digestion;

Tall men but short characters;

Steep profits but shallow relationships.

It’s a time when there is much in the window

But nothing in the room.

I love this poem because it completely epitomizes exactly what I’m talking about. So instead of ruining the moment with more words, I’ll just leave it there.

Is there something in your room, or are you still looking out the window?

Epylle Spydre

Leave a Reply

