I love you

There are so many people that I love. I have been blessed with so many beautiful, amazing friends from all over the world. And I love them. But there are also so many people that I miss. I’ve had to move around a ton, so I have a plethora of people that are just so far away from me. I have friends in Washington state that I haven’t seen since June. I know that doesn’t sound like a long time, but the thing is, I don’t know when, or even if, I’ll ever see them again. There are some people that I haven’t seen in 5 years. So many of my conversations on facebook include “I miss you so much” several times in the conversation, as well as reminiscing of the “old days”.

Now, I’m not trying to complain here. You see, there’s a catch to what I’m saying. I miss these people who live so far away. I miss them dearly. But there’s another friend that I miss. But with her, I miss not seeing her every school day. Does that mean that I just love her so much more dearly than the other people? I feel like an awful person saying “I miss you” both to people that I haven’t seen in ages and to people that I see all the time.

Recently, my aunt and uncle flew over from California for a conference or something. It was amazing to see them, because, like other people, I hadn’t seen them in several years. But when they left, it was so difficult. Having to watch them walk away made me realize just how much I love them.

You don’t realize how much you love someone until you miss them.

When you love someone, you’ll miss them no matter how long it’s been since you’ve seen them, whether it’s been 2 hours or 20 years.

That’s what I came to realize thorugh that experience. When we have people that we see everyday, we have the tendency to take them for granted and forget how much they really mean to us. And I know that’s human nature, but it’s so sad.

Life is so short. I could die tomorrow, and it would be horrible and awful. But that’s life. Life is SO SHORT. And the people around us might be gone in the blink of an eye. And when someone’s dead, you won’t have the chance to tell them how much you love them. We take SO much for granted, it’s crazy. And those people that we love should know that. We’ve all probably watched a movie or read a book where one character says to somebody they love, “I hate you” (Finding Nemo, anyone?). And then something crazy happens, and they are absolutely, positively filled with regret. And it’s so sad. (I’ll just not mention that these movies show the people getting back together again. Yay! But it’s not really my point.)

I don’t think any of us want to have to be in that situation. Life is so short, so tell the people that you love that you really do love them. Because they could be gone in the blink of an eye.

Sorry, I don’t mean to sound preacherish. I just feel like a lot of people, including myself, forget about how short life is.

So I’ll just end with this simple message:

I love you.

Epylle Spydre

One thought on “I love you

  1. David Meeks says:

    I miss you

Leave a Reply

