The Hurt and the Healer

I told you I would write a legitimate post later today, so here I am!

If you are friends with me on facebook, you probably know that I’ve been asking people for topics to blog about. I want to blog about stuff that people want to read, so it makes sense for me to ask this, yes? I think so, too. Yesterday, I got key lime pie, and today, I have a couple things, including infant and mother mortality rates in the US despite our large health care systems.

I could bore you with numbers, but I recently read a book called Made to Stick by Chip and Dan Heath. It was an interesting book and one of the things that I learned from it was that numbers make people put their analyzing hat on instead of their empathizing hat. So, if I want to make you care about infants and mothers that are dying, I’m not going to tell you how many infants out of 1,000 will die in a year but I am instead going to give you a picture.

You and your best friend like to do everything together, including getting pregnant at the same time. You’re so excited about the future, because you’re sure that your kids will be the best of friends, just like you guys are. Your dream is beautiful, and it most definitely ends with “And they all lived happily ever after.” Finally, the days are drawing closer, and you go into labor before your friend. On the other end of all the pain, blood, and tears that I’ve heard accompany births—haven’t actually experienced this myself, as I am only 16—is a beautiful baby boy. With big, blue eyes and a smile that would warm even Voldemort’s heart, he is all you could ever dream of having. You are so excited to see your friend, who must have gone into labor by now, when your husband comes into tell you something: your friend lost the baby. The doctors tried all they could, but they couldn’t save the baby.

It’s unfair, isn’t it? Even though “you” didn’t have the baby, you can sense the injustice of this situation. One friend comes out of the hospital with a bouncing, smiling, laughing, extremely happy baby, and the other leaves with only tears and a broken heart. You really wish she could have a baby too, but you can’t change anything now. What happened to “happily ever after”?

(By the way, this story is completely made up from my imagination and doesn’t represent any statistics, although it’s probably happened before.)

So. Our illustrious health system can’t save the babies. Not that all infants die, that would be really awful, and there would be a whole lot more people blogging about it. But we aren’t as strong as we hoped we were, as a country, that is.

Personally, I’m just thankful that we have a God that saves and heals and works miracles every day. There are so many hurting people out there. I just watched “The Dark Knight”, the second movie in the Batman trilogy, last night. Two-Face is in so much pain, he’s so bitter, and he’s just trying to make himself feel better. Now I haven’t watched “The Dark Knight Rises” yet (yes, it’s on my to-do list), but I have this feeling that Two-Face will just continue being bitter, and nothing will be able to truly heal his heart. It’s like in The Tale of Despereaux, where they talk about how broken hearts never come back quite right.

But God sees our hurts and pains. God wants to bring us to His side and heal our aching hearts and bodies. And when we are in pain, God isn’t punishing us, the way we tend to think. As the song goes, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. Sometimes pain is just here so that we can be tested and remember who the Healer is.

Epylle Spydre

p.s. I got the title name from MercyMe’s song, “The Hurt and the Healer”. I tried several times to put a video on here, but it didn’t work. But you should still listen to it, ’cause it’s a great song!

Leave a Reply

