To Choose or Not to Choose? That is the Question

Hey guys! Sorry it’s been awhile. A very long while, and I’m sorry about that. I’ve just had work that I didn’t think I was going to have and after working all day, it takes an awful lot of motivation to get onto the computer and write a blog. It’s just so much easier to watch a movie or read a book, which I’m actually really enjoying. So yeah, I’m sorry. I’ll try to be more regular with my posting, but school starts soon. So this place will probably disappear for a little bit, only to be resurrected during Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter breaks, etc.

As I said, I’m really enjoying my book, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I’d really recommend it, it’s lovely food for the brain. Now, I could go and talk about ethics and human life, but I already did that in another blog post, “A Person’s a Person, No Matter How Small”. So, I’m going to go on the other route, and talk about choices. Why are we given the pure gift of choice? When can we make good choices?

Choice. Why do we have it? If you believe in a God, you ask, “Why did my God give humans the gift of choice? We’re so STUPID!” (just as a note, I’m not trying to exclude all you polytheistic people. I’M NOT TRYING TO BASH YOUR RELIGION, I’m just trying to make it easier on myself by not having to deal with awkward tense situations.) Back to the topic, I believe the answer is very simple: if we didn’t have the gift of choice, we wouldn’t be able to choose that God. In practically every religion you come across, God doesn’t just let people go on and live their life (except Deism, but that’s really complicated). More often than not, God wants something from people, whether that is obedience, love, service, worship, etc. But think about it, if we didn’t have free will, we wouldn’t be giving those things willingly and whole heartedly. It’s like if you made robots or puppets worship you. It doesn’t satisfy you, because it’s not the subject’s choice. It all came from you, but that doesn’t help you know that you’re a good god, or a scary god, or whatever type of god you wanted to be. By giving choice to humans, God gives us the ability to choose Him, and therefore we are the evidence of His success. There’s my answer to that one. And if you don’t believe in a god, then well, I can’t really help you there. (Once again, not trying to bash your beliefs. Please don’t get upset at me. I didn’t do it on purpose. I love you anyways, please love me, too.)

This next part is more connected to the book. The book is all about whether the main character, Anna Fitzgerald, can make choices about her health that could save or hurt her sister. That’s the gist, folks, and it’s not a spoiler. It’s a really good book, you really should read it. But the point is, what gives us the right to make choices? How do we and those around us trust to make good decisions? Just face it, we make TONS of bad decisions. So, why do we keep making decisions? Why don’t we just become paranoid and hide ourselves in a closet with tons of Purell? First, BECAUSE WHAT IF THAT’S NOT THE RIGHT CHOICE? Second, because frankly, we want to have a life. A closet won’t be the place where you meet your one true love. Unless they’re paranoid too, in which case, you guys will make a very unusual couple…. But third, because I think it’s just a habit of humanity. We can’t do anything without making a choice, even if they’re not conscious ones. Finally and perhaps most philosophically, we want to be able to continue making choices. Free will, the ability to choose, is what makes us different from animals. We admire animals: their beauty, strength, swiftness, cunning, cuteness. But we want to be different from them. So we make the choice to make choices. It’s choice-ception! And even though some of our choices don’t turn out to be the greatest in the world, they give us nice, little reality checks. They remind us that we do have free will, that it’s a gift, and that we should try to use it wisely. So can we trust ourselves to make good choices? Of course not! But we make choices anyway.

Cheers,

(cue lemonade clink)

Epylle Spydre

Leave a Reply

