A Person’s a Person, No Matter How Small

You probably recognize the title, either from the original Dr. Seuss book “Horton Hears a Who”, or from the movie or musical adaptations of it. I was actually brought to this thought while I was researching bumble bees. Don’t question my madness; I was researching bumble bees on a whim. But one place where I was reading spoke of the bees so lovingly, and so “a person’s a person, no matter how small” just popped into my head. As I tend to do, I’ve decided to follow this where it leads, as it appears to be more promising today than ranting about consumerism (consuming honey, which comes from bees. D’you get it?). But I can rant about consumerism tomorrow.

Earlier in the week, my mom brought my attention to an article (link: http://www.nomblog.com/16673/ ) that spoke of a moral dilemma: is it wrong to accuse someone of murder or abuse when it’s perfectly normal in their culture? In the article, it spoke of how some teacher in Canada (if my memory’s correct) presented this dilemma to his philosophy students, and was appalled when they weren’t angry and outraged at people in Afghanistan who abused their daughter when she ran away from her abusive husband. The point of the article was that education nowadays makes people not only open cultural differences (which is good), but okay with this kind of cultural difference, even though it’s really morally wrong.

Yes, it’s morally wrong to abuse your daughter for running away from her abusive husband. For me, I can’t judge those people for what they did, because in their law, it was okay, but I can judge the practice. I judge the practice of treating women like property and the practice of harming innocent people as morally wrong. I can say that the practice is morally wrong, because there is something that should go beyond cultural lines: the value of human life. A person’s a person, no matter how small.

Now, I could go on the whole abortion track, but I’m sure you’ve heard it already. Life starts as soon as you’re conceived. Those children deserve life, even when their parents weren’t expecting it, or if they’re diagnosed with some sort of mental illness. Here’s a story that I think you’ll like. I borrowed it from a blog which I’m giving the link to so that hopefully this isn’t considered plagiarism. http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/blog/?p=4860

Here’s the story:

A worried woman went to her gynecologist and said: ‘Doctor, I have a serious problem and desperately need your help! My baby is not even 1 year old and I’m pregnant again. I don’t want kids so close together. So the doctor said: ‘Ok and what do you wan’t me to do?’ She said: ‘I want you to end my pregnancy, and I’m counting on your help with this.’

The doctor thought for a little, and after some silence he said to the lady: ‘I think I have a better solution for your problem. It’s less dangerous for you too.’ She smiled, thinking that the doctor was going to accept her request.

Then he continued: ‘You see, in order for you not to have to take care 2 babies at the same time, let’s kill the one in your arms. This way, you could rest some before the other one is born. If we’re going to kill one of them, it doesn’t matter which one it is. There would be no risk for your body if you chose the one in your arms.

The lady was horrified and said: ‘No doctor! How terrible! It’s a crime to kill a child! ‘I agree’, the doctor replied. ‘But you seemed to be OK with it, so I thought maybe that was the best solution.’ The doctor smiled, realizing that he had made his point. He convinced the mom that there is no difference in killing a child that’s already been born and one that’s still in the womb.

Well, I didn’t intentionally go on the abortion track, but I guess I’m here. Actually, it’s really more of a “human life is precious” type of track, which is more general. We were given the amazing, beautiful gift of life, but we throw it around all the time as if we had extra lives to spare. We go around, moaning and groaning about all of life’s problems when in reality, we have so much to be thankful for. And there are people that say, “I don’t have time to do this now, but I’ll get to it after I have a family and they’re all taken care of.” NO! That pains me when I hear that, because that person could die tomorrow, and they didn’t put their efforts into what really matters, but instead lived off of the temporary, consumerist traps of the world. Ha, look! There’s consumerism. But back to the point.

LIFE IS SHORT! And more than that, life is precious. It is so, so,SO precious, and people shouldn’t be able to just hurt other people for weak reasons. A person’s a person, no matter how small. No matter what you’ve done, no matter what plans you have for the future, you’re still a person. And you deserve life.

Enjoy the lemonade,

Epylle Spydre

4 thoughts on “A Person’s a Person, No Matter How Small

  1. preachinmama says:

    You hit the nail on the head once again. Plus I was hoping you would use the moral question as fuel for your blog. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

