Where Disney Went Wrong

Okay, I’ve got a confession to make. I have just been choosing random topics and writing about them, not caring about what people would want to read. I realized that I’ve been getting more pleasure from my stats page than from my actual posts. So, I’ve decided to write something that I will enjoy, and hopefully you’ll enjoy as well.

I feel like ranting. It’s really quite fun, at least on my side it is. Okay, so I’m listening to Disney songs, trying to figure out what to write, and the answer suddenly hits me: I’m listening to Disney songs. I’m gonna rant about Disney!! It’s not Disney that is so bad, there’s just one thing that really bothers me: love at first sight. So, in actuality, I’m not ranting about Disney, I’m ranting about love at first sight. Though, Beauty and the Beast breaks away from that, having a girl fall in love with a horrifying, ugly beast with a beautiful heart. Good job, Disney. Now fix the others.

Love at first sight is so dumb. Sometimes, it’s actually legit, which is really cool, but the love at first sight in Disney movies and well, practically any other movie, is stupid. Fall in love with a personality, not a face, people! Seriously, people say all the time, “He’s soooooo hot!!” or “Just look at that body” or, here’s my favorite, “Every guy dreams of finding a girl who looks like you.” (line from Legally Blonde the Musical, more really good music, listen to it!) It is true, half the time, people are just saying that, and they’re not really “in love” with that person, but still. And I’m not going to be a hypocrite, claiming I don’t notice when there are attractive people around, but still. I’m not gonna go all dewy eyes on some dude just ‘cause I think he’s cute.

Seriously, our culture puts too much store into appearances. Actually, I think most cultures do that. It’s just a human thing to do: to love those that are smart, strong, or beautiful. And me talking about this on my blog is not going to change it at all, because it’s just how human nature works. Sorry, guys. “I am ashamed” (Jacques from Finding Nemo, I really do allude a lot of movies in these posts, don’t I? It’s really harder not to make references when you’re listening to Disney). Okay, but aside the fact that human nature loves those who are beautiful, our culture still puts too much store into appearances. Girls have to be bone-thin, suuuuper tan, with faces so perfect you’re not sure if they’re real or not. And guys have it bad too, though it’s not as obvious. Guys have to be well-built, with nice arms and abs. The tall, lanky ones just don’t make it on the covers of magazines, unless their face is just gorgeous. It’s sad. WHO SAYS BEAUTY CAN BE JUDGED FROM THE OUTSIDE???? I just don’t get it. Oh, and speaking of magazines, I heard a story on the radio about some girl who petitioned Seventeen magazine to put real girls in the magazine and succeeded! Isn’t that cool? Stories like that just make me happy.

But back to my original idea. Love at first sight is dumb. Beauty isn’t skin-deep, it’s based on personality. I don’t love my friends because they’re physically beautiful but because they have amazing hearts. As a friend of mine once said, physical beauty can be taken away from you. Personality can’t be taken away from you, and it depends on you to make a decision whether it’s beautiful or not.  And I mean, sometimes love at first sight actually happens, like with some dude from the band, The Afters (listen to them too!), but I don’t know which one it is. I’m totally cool with real love at first sight (I’m a hopeless romantic, for future reference), it’s just infatuation with a face that annoys me. Alas, my ranting doesn’t really do much except amuse the few people who will read this. Oh well.

Epylle Spydre

Leave a Reply

