The Color Yellow

Hello, folks! I actually have no idea if anyone is reading this right now, but at least I can pretend. Today, I wanna talk about something happier than yesterday, so I do believe I shall talk about the color yellow. I know, really deep stuff. But hopefully, the color yellow will lead us on a marvelous adventure, so that we can finally stumble across a marvelous, (but probably tiny) epiphany. Let’s get going.

Okay, so I’ve said the color yellow three times right now (if you include the title, which I do), and you’ve probably connected it with things. Sunshine, butter, lemons, school buses, bumblebees. I personally like sunshine the best. However, the point is that people connect yellow with certain things, and those things are usually quite positive. Yellow is the unofficial, yet widely used color of happiness. Isn’t that kind of funny? How we, as humans, like to associate certain emotions and concepts with colors. It’s just kind of amusing. Red is for love, purple is for mystery, green is for growth, blue is for sadness, and orange… Well, I dunno about orange. But that’s not the point.

As people, we like to connect things: dots, experiences, knowledge, and even colors. Everything is just one large web (just watched the new Spiderman movie) of inter-connected emotions, concepts, knowledge, experiences, etc etc etc. It brings a sense of unity. People like to feel connected with other people. How many times will we say during the story of somebody else, “oh that happens to me all the time!”? Or, we might say, “I do that, too!” or “I saw somebody doing that once”. Are you getting my drift here?

The mind of the human likes to connect things. I mean, I’m sure some animals do that, too. We’ve all heard of Pavlov’s dog, yes? But there is something unique about the way the human brain connects things. From a philosophical standpoint, I see that and say that that’s how people empathize with others and have compassion on them. We, quite literally, connect with them. It’s really quite beautiful. I mean, that’s how relationships are made.

Okay, a little etymology here. “Relation” comes from the Latin, meaning “a bringing back, restoring”. The suffix “ship” just means a state or condition of being. But the relation part of it hints at a connecting type of thing. When we make relationships, we are bringing back memories and experiences that we’ve made to connect with their own memories and experiences. Okay, that’s a little bit of a stretch, but it’s still pretty cool.

Okay, where did I get to with this? Oh, right. The human brain connects. We connect literally everything, including colors (aha! back to my title! Wow, I had no idea this would take this path…). And that allows humans to become empathetic, creating relationships. Wow, that sounded like a math formula. I am such a nerd… Yay for connections that help us to make relationships!

Yours truly,

Epylle Spydre

Image

picture credit to Tara M. You should check out her blog, too! It’s http://thelifeofpictures.wordpress.com/ 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Color Yellow

  1. John says:

    Hey B… Epylle. What an interesting blog. I especially like the bit about the etymology of “Relationship.” So, does this mean that a relationship is not a relationship until it is restored? maybe even repaired from brokenness?

    How fascinating…

  2. epyllespydre says:

    I have to confess, the etymology part was completely on a whim and I didn’t do a very thorough job of researching. But, I just now found a really cool website that has a nice visual aid (I like learning by visuals), that kind of explains it better. What I found there is really cool, because it has the word going way back to a pre-Medieval Latin word “ferre” which means to carry, bear, bring, tell. It was also used as a word meaning narrating or telling of events, which is kind of cool because that goes with my idea about connecting, and one way people connect is by telling stories. So that’s more etymology.
    But I really like what you were saying, because it’s not as straight forward. I don’t have the authority to make a real statement about that, but what I would think is that it’s almost foreshadowing that real relationships aren’t completely smooth. the ones that manage to survive the brokenness and be repaired are the real ones. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

